Elementary

Curriculum/Education/Academics

Stone Ridge Christian School is committed to providing quality Christian education by providing students with answers for life and living. The school is accredited by WASC (Western Association of Schools and Colleges) and ACSI (Association of Christian Schools International) and are members of ACSI and CSI (Christian Schools International). We are dedicated to…

Forming–each student’s unique God-given academic, spiritual, social, physical, and artistic gifts by providing a challenging curriculum.

Informing–teaching students to know, enjoy, and respect the world God made. Our primary goal is to educate the child in solid academics that challenge students to think critically from a Christian life and worldview.

Transforming— preparing tomorrow’s leader to have an impact on the community and world.

Our curriculum includes:

  • Bible 
  • Art
  • PE
  • Music
  • Library
  • A Beka
  • Bob Jones
  • Houghton-Mifflin

Library

The SRC Library serves as an environment that encourages the love of reading. Students have weekly class time allotted for library time where they are introduced and encouraged to read an array of non-fiction, fiction, and educational material. We use Elementary Librarian for library curriculum, teaching students:

Library skills, Book care, Fact vs Opinion, Summary and Analysis skills, Website research and reliability, and much more.

We have a part-time librarian who helps students and teachers and facilitates the Accelerated Reader Program.

Accelerated Reader

SRC utilizes Accelerated Reader (AR), an online reading assessment program used for 1st through 6th grade students. SRC uses Accelerated Reader as a core part of reading in elementary grades.

How it works:

Student Reads a Book. Students choose books at their appropriate reading levels and read them at their own pace. Parents can use AR BookFinder.com or talk to the teacher to help select books.
Student Takes a Quiz. Accelerated Reader Enterprise offers more than 140,000 quizzes to help motivate and monitor students’ reading and vocabulary growth.
You Get Information. Teachers get immediate feedback on the reading and vocabulary progress of each student. Parents can view student status and growth, too.

The result have been amazing–over 99% of the student body participating and excelling in the program!

Field Trips

Throughout their elementary years, our students attend a variety of field trips that provide many exciting opportunities for learning about science, art, history, and our local community. Many of these field trips become the highlight of the year for our students. Some highlights include:

  • Farm experiences
  • Play House Merced
  • Monterey Bay Aquarium
  • Mission San Juan Baptista
  • Hilmar Cheese Factory
  • San Jose Discovery Museum
  • Yosemite National Park

Academic Competitions

Elementary students can compete in a variety of academic competitions including:

  • Math Olympics
  • Spelling Bee
  • Geography Bee
  • Fine Arts Festivals

Stone Ridge Christian students often place in the top against other area schools.

Katie Cann

Katie Cann

Kindergarten
kcann@srcs.us

Shanon Moreno

Shanon Moreno

Kindergarten
smoreno@srcs.us

Dayna Hopkins

Dayna Hopkins

First Grade
dhopkins@srcs.us

Kendra Russell

Kendra Russell

Second Grade
krussell@srcs.us

Ruth Walstrom

Ruth Walstrom

Third Grade
rwalstrom@srcs.us

M'Lynn Smith

M'Lynn Smith

Fourth Grade
msmith@srcs.us

Mark Tillotson

Mark Tillotson

Fifth Grade
mtillotson@srcs.us

Jessica Romo

Jessica Romo

Sixth Grade
jromo@srcs.us

James Tesone

James Tesone

Reading Clinician
jtesone@srcs.us

David Brooks

David Brooks

Physical Education
dbrooks@srcs.us

Leslie Bell

Leslie Bell

Elementary Teacher Aide
lbell@srcs.us

Lawanna Souza

Lawanna Souza

Elementary Teacher Aide
lsouza@srcs.us

Jenni Perry

Jenni Perry

Librarian / Extended Care
jperry@srcs.us